Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Tax Deductions
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Medical Scribe Question

Hi,

Thanks for the great advice on the forums and website.

Can I deduct the cost of a medical scribe on my taxes? Is this cost considered a business expense in the eyes of the IRS?

I am an independent contractor and the staffing company I work for pays part of the cost and I pay the balance of the cost for a scribe to document my patient encounters. The company I work for does not require me to use a scribe but I've found they are helpful during the course of my day.

Thanks in advance for any advice in this matter!

Brian

Zip Code: 78749

Re: Medical Scribe Question

I would say that a physician paying someone to help with medical transcription would generally qualify as an "ordinary and necessary" business expense and should be tax deductible to you on your Schedule C.

However, don't forget that if you are paying an individual and not a corporation, and you paid more than $600 to that person during the calendar year, you need to complete a 1099-Misc form, and mail one copy to the person you paid and a second copy to the IRS along with a 1096.

Here are some basics: