Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Original MDTAXES Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
estimated taxes

I am a Physician in a medium sized group practice (partnership). I only have earned income (no salary) and generally pay my estimated taxes as 4 equal installments. This year two partners suddenly retired in September and hence the income went up. I will obviously owe some taxes, but my question is what do I do about the 4th quarter estimated taxes payment. If I add more money, then I would not have payed in "equal" intallsments as required by the IRS.

Or should I just add to the estimated tax payment for the Jan 15th. (I realize that I will not qualify for the safe harbors ie my payments are not 110% of last year and not 90% of this years taxes.

Appreciate your response.

Zip Code: 87111

Re: estimated taxes

Hi. That's great that your income went up this year (even though I'm sure you worked quite hard to earn that extra money.)

For starters, I would recommend that you pay enough for your fourth quarter estimate to stop any underpayment penalties from accruing as of 1/15/16. You would want your total federal tax payments to exceed the lesser of 110% of your prior year's tax liability or 90% of your current year's tax liability.