Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Original MDTAXES Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Life Insurance and Estate Tax

Hi Andrew,

I am a new attending physician and my spouse and I currently have limited assets (<$1mil), but are contemplating purchasing rather large term life insurance policies to protect our children if we die. Since we live in a state where any assets over $1mil per person are subject to estate tax, we are wondering whether it makes more sense to establish a marital A/B trust, an irrevocable life insurance trust, or simply transfer ownership of the life insurance policies to a third party. I would appreciate your thoughts on this. Many thanks for this informative board.

Re: Life Insurance and Estate Tax

Good question. Unfortunately, I don't know the answer to this one, since my firm doesn't deal much with estate and gift taxes.

I recommend that you contact an estate planning attorney licensed in your state to help you determine the best way to hold your life insurance policies. It might cost a little money right now, but you could save thousands of dollars in estate taxes down the road by getting everything set up properly now. Ask your peers if they have worked with anyone who is both knowledgable and reasonable with their fees.