Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Original MDTAXES Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: 401k withdrawals vs. student loans for med school

I am a practicing physician and not an accountant but I must say that this seems like a terrible idea to me. First of all you will be penalized on the withdrawals. Second, by cashing out your money you are taking away one of the most powerful financial tools ( the power of compounding interest). I feel that you will regret this decision especially when you can consolidate student loans to the tune of 3-6%. My advice is take out the loans. A little bit of good debt (ie low interest rate debt) is not a bad idea in our profession. It makes you much less of a target with the predators, creditors, and those looking to sue. You have to realize that you are going to be a big target for someone. You want to appear as poor on paper as possible. Just me 2 cents....

Zip Code: 78132

Re: Re: 401k withdrawals vs. student loans for med school

Thank you very much for your reply.

I didn't realize that student loans could be consolidated like that. Hopefully interest rates will still be low in 4-8 years.

Your advice against being a target is sound too. Is it true that 401k/IRA accounts are exempt from lawsuits?

Re: Re: Re: 401k withdrawals vs. student loans for med school