Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Original MDTAXES Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
To incorporate or not?

Help! I have read so much on this subject and I'm still not sure what to do. I'm beginning to think that sole proprietorship is the way to go with LLC the next best choice.

Here's my situation.

I am changing my working situation to the following:
I am a doctor employed half time by an HMO with full benfits and will make more than $100, 000/year in this position.
I am starting a "business = medical practice" with no employees or partners and will definitely make more than $200, 000 but maybe up to $300, 000 or so. For the business, my expenses will include medical malpractice insurance, office rental, biller, slip and fall insurance for the office I'm renting and "supplies-paper, bandages, etc."

I'm thinking that sole proprietorship is the way to go because:
1. I'll max out my social security tax as an employee and won't have to pay the employer contibution 15.3% on the self employed income anyway and won't have to pay unemployment tax.
2. I have no employees/liability from which to protect myself.

Is my logic sound or should I consider LLC or Scorp?

Is it true that I wouldn't pay SS tax on the self employed income if I'm over $97,500 in 2007 as an employee?