Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Original MDTAXES Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
retirement

hi,
Iam a partner at a group practice and contribute max (15,000)to 401k and also take part inthe profit sharing. i also work as a independent contracter at a second job can i
1. save for retirement with either a sep/simpleor solo 401k with the income from the 2nd job.
2.can i use the self employed deductions such as milage,electronic item purchases etc from the income of the second job
nandeesh

Zip Code: 95355

Re: retirement

If you are partners is a group practice, and then earn some additional income on the side, you should be allowed to set up and contribute to a retirement plan based on your self-employment income - even if you are covered under a retirement plan through the group.

There is an exception if you were to own 100% of the group practice. In that case, since you would control two entities, they would be considered one entity for employee benefit and retirement plan purposes. (Actually, I believe the rules changed this year and if you own more than 50% of two entities, they are seen as having common ownership for this purpose.)