Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Original MDTAXES Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Education Expenses Deductible as Business Expenses

I am a physician in a large group practice of 25 docs. While working full time, I've also been enrolled in a MBA program.

Pub 970 (IRS) outlines the qualifications for taking educational expenses as a business expense deduction. Specifically, the educational expenses qualify if they "maintain or improve skills needed in your present work."

How do I know if the IRS considers MBA coursework as meeting that qualification? Is there a way to confirm that before filing? Certainly there are business responsibilities in a group of 25 physicians. An MBA would improve the skills needed to perform those tasks. However, I don't want to take the deduction "because I think so"... only to get audited then owe back taxes because the IRS doesn't think so.

The second question involves where to deduct this, Sched A, C or F. From Jan 1 to Jun 30 I was an employee of the group, and from Jul 1 to Dec 31 I was a partner of the LLP. Based on the instructions on Pub 970 pg 53, I'm still not clear on where the deduction should be reported. Am I an employee or self-employed? Does it go on Schedule A, C or F?

What are your thoughts? Any advice you could provide would be helpful... or recommend where else to ask. Thank you.

Zip Code: bwoodward@comcast.net