Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Medical Resident FICA Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
IRS Reponds to My FICA Refund Request

Some background: I was a medical resident in Los Angeles in 2005, 2006, and 2007, and have been deligently and methodically asking the IRS to refund me the deducted FICA taxes since 2008. It took about a year for the IRS to consider my request complete and valid -- they kept asking for various pieces of documentation, then at one point claimed that that had lost some paperwork and so I would need to resubmit from scratch -- but then finally, in 2009, everything was apparently in order and the IRS began considering/researching my request. Every couple of months I would receive a letter indicating as such, and every three months I would write them a letter to ensure my claim was kept alive. Then, earlier this year, I was informed that my request was transferred from the IRS's Fresno, California office to their Philadelphia office. Shortly thereafter, I received a letter from the IRS denying my request (because I was employee, not a student) and closing the case.