Welcome to the MDTAXES Message Board

The MDTAXES Network is an affiliation of CPAs that specialize in the tax planning and preparation for young health care professionals.  Please leave your questions or comments for our CPAs, who visit the message board regularly, or review the answers, suggestions and ideas posted in response to your colleagues' questions.

Please check out our other Message Boards available at www.FindAGoodCPA.com.

Please note: We are NOT affiliated with the Maryland Tax Department. If you're looking for information about Maryland income taxes, go to www.marylandtaxes.com.

Practice Issues
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Independent Contractor/Partnership Expenses

I am an independent contractor/physician working for a medical group, with a partnership buy in of 3 years. My expenses related to this partnership include:

1) I have to pay the partnership a % of my collections every year as part of the buy in
2) I have to pay for my share of the partnership overhead expenses
3) I have to pay a third party (designated by the partnership) for billing/collections

My business is structured as an S-Corp and I was wondering how I would report these expenses relating to the partnership on my 1120S tax return? Would the buy in fees be tax deductible to my S-Corp and if so, what type of expense would I label it as? For the partnership overhead, would I just deduct these on my return as my own overhead costs?

I would greatly appreciate any help you can provide!

Zip Code: 75041

Re: Independent Contractor/Partnership Expenses

Here's what happens in this situation.

The practice collections all the money earned from insurance reimbursements and other patient fees. The practice will then pay all the overhead expenses, and make any other allocations that are contractually required. In your case, some of your collections will be allocated to the other partners as part of your buy-in.